TOGAF Banner


The Open Group Architect Framework (TOGAF®) an Open Group Standard, is a proven enterprise architecture methodology and framework used by the world’s leading organizations to improve business efficiency. It is the most prominent and reliable enterprise architecture standard, ensuring consistent standards, methods, and communication among enterprise architecture professionals. Enterprise architecture professionals fluent in TOGAF standards enjoy greater industry credibility, job effectiveness, and career opportunities. TOGAF helps practitioners avoid being locked into proprietary methods, utilize resources more efficiently and effectively, and realize a greater return on investment.

The Open Group TOGAF certification is:
• Used by the world’s leading enterprises to certify a common body of core knowledge about the methodology and framework
• A trusted, vendor-neutral, globally recognized and portable credential
• Valuable in demonstrating to employers and peers your commitment to enterprise architecture as a discipline
• An outstanding career move and a foundational certification in the career of any Enterprise Architect

So how do you get TOGAF 9 Certified?

There are 2 levels to become TOGAF 9 certified –

  • TOGAF 9 Foundation Level
  • TOGAF 9 Certified Level

You can choose to prepare for both the exams at once and write both the exams scheduled on the same day in one session(OG0-093 – English). Or you can even take the exams separately by preparing and attempting 1 exam at a time. It is however mandatory to write the Foundation level exam(OG0-091  – English) first and pass in order to appear for the Certified level exam((OG0-092  – English) . In order to be TOGAF 9 certified you would need to pass both these exams.

What is the cost of the exams?

If you wish to take the OG0-093 (both Foundation level and Certified level) the cost for the combined exam is USD 495. If you take both the exams separately, the cost for Foundation level (OG0-91) is USD 320 and the cost for Certified level(OG0-092) is USD 320.

What is the pattern of the exam?

  • Foundation level – 

                  The Foundation level exam consists of 40 mutiple choice questions. You would need to get at least 22( 55 %) answers right in order to pass the exam. Every question has only one right answer ( there are no questions that ask you to choose 1 or more right answers ). The exam is not open book and there are no negative marks for wrong answers. The exam duration is 60 minutes and need to be scheduled at an Authorized Open Group Examination Provider Testing Centers or through some TOGAF Accredited Training Course Providers. In case if you fail the exam, you are required to wait for 1 month in order to re-take the exam. Below are topics being covered by the foundation level exam –

  1. Basic Concepts (3 questions)
  2. Core Concepts (3 questions)
  3. Introduction to the ADM (3 questions)
  4. The Enterprise Continuum and Tools (4 questions)
  5. ADM Phases (9 questions)
  6. ADM Guidelines and Techniques (6 questions)
  7. Architecture Governance (4 questions)
  8. Architecture Views, Viewpoints and Stakeholders (2 questions)
  9. Building Blocks (2 questions)
  10. ADM Deliverables (2 questions)
  11. TOGAF Reference Models (2 questions)
  • Certified Level –

              The Certified level exam consists of 8 multiple choice questions. The questions in this exam are scenario based and each question describes the problem statement in detail. There will be 4 choices to choose from. However only 1 choice is the best answer and choosing that option will give you 5 marks. If you choose the 2nd best choice you would be given 3 marks. If you choose the 3rd best answer you would be given 1 mark. And finally if you choose the wrong answer there will be no marks. The exam is evaluated for 40 marks and in order to pass the exam you would need to score a minimum of 24 marks. Also this is an open book exam, and the test center will provide an electronic copy of the TOGAF specification.

The eight questions are drawn from the following topic areas:

  1. ADM Phases: Project Establishment (phases Preliminary, A, Requirements Management)
  2. ADM Phases: Architecture Definition (phases B,C,D)
  3. ADM Phases: Transition Planning (phases E and F)
  4. ADM Phases: Governance (phases G and H)
  5. Adapting the ADM
  6. Architecture Content Framework
  7. TOGAF Reference Models
  8. Architecture Capability Framework

What self-study books will guide you through the exams?

There are 2 study guides available. The first of which covers the TOGAF 9 Foundation. The second is the companion document covering the learning outcomes beyond the Foundation level for TOGAF 9 Certified. The two study guides can also be bought together as a bundle with additional supporting material, see here.